Official Runoff Election Results

The official results from the city of Rio Rancho’s April 15, 2014, runoff municipal election that included the Mayor and District 5 City Councilor are:
 Mayor (Four-Year Term, at-Large)
 Greggory D. Hull
 Michael J. Williams
 District 5 City Councilor (Four-Year Term)
 Shelby Smith
 Thomas R. Buckner
Due to no candidate receiving more than 50 percent of the total votes cast in the city’s March 4, 2014, regular municipal election for the offices of Mayor and District 5 City Councilor, the candidates with the highest and second-highest vote totals from the regular election were subject to a runoff election per City Code.

Canvass of Election Results

The April 15, 2014, unofficial election results were canvassed by Sandoval County Magistrate Court Judge Richard L. Zanotti and certified as official on Friday, April 18, 2014.

View certified canvass of election results (searchable PDF).

Voter Turnout

Registered voters citywide were able to vote for Mayor. Registered voters residing in City Council District 5 were able to vote for Mayor and District 5 City Councilor.
  • Of the 57,488 registered voters who could have cast a ballot for Mayor, 6,551 or 11.4 percent voted.
  • Of the 9,372 registered voters who could have cast a ballot for District 5 City Councilor,1,169 or 12.5 percent voted.

Swearing-In Ceremony

At 6 p.m. on Monday, April 21, 2014, at Rio Rancho City Hall, the following will be officially sworn in and take office:
  • Greggory D. Hull as Mayor of Rio Rancho
  • Shelby Smith as District 5 City Councilor
The public is invited to attend the ceremony.


For election questions, please call the Office of the City Clerk at (505) 891-5004..

Reading the PDF documents provided on this site requires the Adobe Acrobat Reader, available for free from Adobe.